In Stock
Pack Size

Calculate Shipping

Buckwheat Flour


Is buckwheat gluten free?

Buckwheat is a fruit seed related to rhubarb and sorrel. Many people ask, ‘Is buckwheat gluten free?’, and the answer is a definite yes! If you have a gluten intolerance or suffer from Celiac Disease, you can safely add buckwheat to your diet. When ground, buckwheat flour makes a nutritious baking ingredient and substitute for wheat flour. In breads and cakes, it is generally used in combination with other gluten-free flours.


Buckwheat Pancakes

Buckwheat pancakes are famous for being robust and distinctive, with a bold, earthy flavour. They are a perfect addition to vegan and non-vegan diets making a delicious Saturday or Sunday (or any day) breakfast. Add fresh fruit and yoghurt or maple syrup with a little butter. Fresh fruit and ice cream make them a real kid pleaser!  

Considered an ‘ancient grain’, its high nutritional profile remains unmanipulated. It still packs plenty of protein, complex carbohydrates, iron, zinc, selenium, magnesium, soluble fibre, and provides all essential amino acids. With its high nutritional profile and low Glycemic Index, buckwheat flour is considered part of a healthy diet.


See here for recipe ideas.

Vegetarian | Vegan | Meat & Seafood | Sweets & Treats


Brand Pure Food Essentials

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Pure Food Essentials users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review